Personal Highlights of 2015

It’s hard to believe that it’s already the end of December. That does seem to happen faster, each year. (Although strangely, I think I’m finding it easier to remember what year it is when I’m journaling. Keeping track of what day it is, though: that’s an entirely different story, that may or may not have something to do with how much caffeine I’ve had.)

So today, anyway, I wanted to look back at some of the highlights of 2015. Here goes:

  • On the inner life side, there’s been some good stuff. Figuring things out, meeting new people (which I’m counting as inner life because it’s tough for me)–it hasn’t all been good, of course, and it hasn’t all been easy, but I feel like I’m learning some things, and in general climbing out of the pit of depression that I fell into around 2013, and that’s nice. [ETA: I didn’t mention the pit on the blog before this year, I think, but retrospectively, 2013 was probably when it started. So in other words: pretty glad to be climbing out.]
  • Kuk sool won. I think I may have gone to a lesson or two last year, but this seems to be the year when it’s gotten to be a bigger part of my life. And even though I’m still not incredibly consistent about going to lessons, it’s been a huge highlight–I never would have thought I’d enjoy it so much. I even managed to level up from a white belt to a yellow belt, which is quite a triumph for someone who let’s just say doesn’t always have the best hand-eye coordination.
  • Family–seeing family this year has been really good. Definitely one of the highlights.
  • Getting out of town once in a while. I think I’m still a restless girl at heart; every now and then I get terrible wanderlust. This year, I was blessed to be able to get out of town a couple times, which isn’t always easy with travel prices and travel time being what they are.
  • Food! Jade noodles at Sapp Coffee Shop come to mind (thank you, Buzzfeed). And a really good birthday lunch with some friends. But I also enjoyed some local eats, and revisited one of my old cookie recipes, so food-wise, this year hasn’t been bad.

So, to Future Me: hopefully this will help you remember that even when a year isn’t perfect (or even when it’s tough), there are good things. Even some great ones. And some deliciously edible ones, which is always fantastic.

