Homemade Bookmark

Bookmark FrontBookmark BackThis is something I’ve wanted to do for a while. I love bookmarks, but like a cat with expensive toys, I tend to ignore the store-bought ones and instead use things like receipts. They’re just so convenient. I don’t have to feel guilty about taking notes on them, and if they happen to be from the library, they usually have the due date of the book I’m reading printed right there.

But in my heart, I still want to have proper bookmarks. So with that in mind, I tried to come up with a bookmark that wouldn’t be too bad to look at, but that I also wouldn’t feel guilty about writing on.

This is what I ended up with. The banner-type thing on the front seems like a good place to keep track of books read using this bookmark. The blank books and postcards on the back are probably better for recording things like due dates and daily progress (if I feel like it).

I don’t know if it’ll actually work. But if it doesn’t, Barnes & Noble has some similar bookmarks available–I stumbled across them a while back, I think sometime after my first unsuccessful foray into designing my own bookmark. They don’t do exactly what I want, but I’m still dying to try them out, because it looks like they do some other things far better. And besides: bookmarks. Always room for more bookmarks. So either way, I get to have some fun.

In the meantime, though, here are the materials I used for this bookmark:

  • Strathmore mixed media paper (300 series)
  • Cutting mat and knife (some kind of paper slicer would probably be better, but I don’t have one of those)
  • Rulers (metal one for cutting the paper–again, not necessary if you have the paper slicer–and regular plastic one for most of the other stuff)
  • Pencil and eraser
  • Pens–I used Tombows, a Pigma Micron, and Staedtler Triplus Fineliners. None of them bled through; the only problem was with the very edges of the bookmark. Some stuff leaked around the rim a tiny bit, but that was mostly because of my sloppy coloring. (I verified that later by coloring more carefully.) With these markers, I also didn’t notice any pilling (I hope that’s the right word)–the paper still feels smooth.

It’s a really easy project–you can decide for yourself how much or how little time you want to put into it, how intricate you want the designs to be, etc. Now all that’s left is to road test it. And maybe someday, when all those blank spaces are filled up, to put this bookmark in my treasury, with all my other “favorites” that I don’t want to risk losing.

At least there are always library receipts.

