Just Finish Something

I haven’t done NaNoWriMo since I was in high school, when I wrote a novel that I have never since felt compelled to revisit. (What was it even about? Blah, blah, something about ships.) I like the idea of NaNoWriMo, and I’ve definitely written novels in a month (or less) since then. That month just doesn’t seem to be November, most times. I think it’s something about being told “you must start writing on November 1st, and only on November 1st.” It pretty much guarantees I’m going to start writing before then.

But the spirit of NaNoWriMo isn’t a bad thing. NaNoWriMo forces you to hunker down and focus, to push past the nitpicking inner editor’s voice and get words on the page. It forces you to finish something. All of that is good and useful.

So that’s my NaNoWriMo goal: not to write 50,000 words, but to finish something. It could be the research for my big WIP. It could be the first draft of my other WIP. It could be the short story I’ve been promising myself I would write for ages and ages. I don’t care, as long as something gets done.

… this blog post counts, right?

Seriously, now, back to work. And good luck to everyone tackling the NaNoWriMo challenge!

